Birthday feast, part 1

©mylunchanddinner

Yesterday was my feared 30th birthday. To start the celebration we decided breakfast was the best idea. I wanted to go to a place called the Waffle Place or to a french café called Chez Christophe.  However, I came to realize a few days ago that this being Holy Week in a country in which Catholicism is no only the major religion in the country, but the official religion, Thursday and Friday are Holidays.

I was surprised and shocked to learn that most of the restaurants are closed on these two Holy days. Stores are closed as well, and cinemas open really late.  I find it really strange that people get free time, but then have nothing to do if they stay in town. Plus, if you decide to take a trip to the beach, everything is so packed that it is crazy.

©mylunchanddinner

Given the ways things were turning out, I had to settle for what was open. Thus, going to Denny’s for breakfast was pretty much all we could do. We yesterday decided to get up early. The fact that breakfast dishes are huge at Denny’s and our lunch plans at 1:30 with our Mexican friends made it imperative to have empty stomachs in a short time.  So, by 9 we were on the move and on our way to having breakfast.

We got there at the right time. Just as we got seated a bunch of people showed up. I was really happy we didn’t have to wait for a table. As we were looking at the menus, I received the call that I most expect every year. My grandmother called, sang happy birthday both in Spanish and English and sent me all her blessings and love.  It always touches me how much Grannie loves me, and I treasure every opportunity I have to talk to her.

© mylunchanddinner

After the call, I asked for my first Bday feast… belgian waffles, bacon, eggs over-easy and a side of hash-browns (potatoes are my greatest weakness) and orange juice.  Hubby ordered what he thought was a normal sized breakfast… not! He ordered a Hearty breakfast, which I have to say is not hearty at all! Scrambled eggs with bacon, potatoes, spinach and cheddar cheese with a side of hashbrown, bacon, sausage and two pancakes! All this with orange juice of course!

He didn’t realize the portion size until his food arrived.  It looked really good, but I have to say it was a Monster Breakfast. The smell was so good that I felt like the food was asking to be tasted. And so I did. The eggs had a delicious taste, certainly one couldn’t expect less of such a fatty dish. I didn’t try the pancakes, but Hubby did say the ones I make are better… I have to thank Nigella for that.

My breakfast contrasted with the look of his (as you can see). The eggs looked kind of sad. However, the were cooked just to the point I love.  The yolks were soft, so I could happily pour them on a spoon and eat them with a bit of salt.  Which now that I am writing sounds really gross when it is quite enjoyable.  My waffles were really good, but I think they could have been browned a bit for a more interesting look and a crunchier taste.  I was really disappointed that there was no honey to be served and had to manage with just maple syrup.

©mylunchanddinner

All in all it was good, but too much food, luckily we could as for our left over to go. We left happily satisfied and started getting our tummy ready for our next meal…

© mylunchanddinner 2012

12 thoughts on “Birthday feast, part 1

  1. I shall rename your blog ‘my breakfast, lunch and dinner’ ! Meanwhile…dreaded 30? No way! Thirty and fabulous! I’m I weird or am i the only one who couldn’t wait to turn 30? And that was 2 years ago! Listen, your 30s are great years. Happy Birthday foodie!

    • Well, now I have to think 30 and fabulous, but I still feel it is an ugly number haha… I am sure you are the only person I’ve ever known to be happy about getting to 30!
      Thank you for you kind comments… I’ll try to accept this soon =)

Leave a Reply

