What should we eat today?

©mylunchanddinner

Last Saturday, for the first time in the seven months we’ve been living in Costa Rica we encountered ourselves with one problem… what are we having for lunch? It was really strange, we usually plan ahead, specially when it is about food.  But the day started pretty odd…

I woke up at 2 am completely shocked. I have no idea of what I was dreaming about, but I do remember I had a huge inflation ball in my upper left gum. I was really scared. Of course, being the daughter of two dentists is part of my awareness of what this problem can bring. So I started a massage using my toothbrush, and couldn’t go back to sleep until 5. I then woke again at 8 and told my husband about my enormous problem.

We went to the dentist only to find out that what was causing the problem was not there anymore, probably because of my three hour massage. The nice doctor gave me a few instructions, and we left. It was still pretty early, so we went to see cars! I was really excited for, as some of you know I don’t have a car yet, and I find myself confined to my house most of the time… Ok, I’m actually working on my PhD, not confined. However, I do think a car will make my life easier.

After visiting all the car dealerships we found open (some of them don’t open saturday and others close at noon!) we were hungry. We didn’t have a clue where to go to, so we started driving back home, and them drove around to see which restaurant will give us a call. It was really weird, we parked on a number of places, but didn’t feel like it. At the end, we decided that having no clue the best thing would be an easy trip to subway in Plaza Los Laureles. Luckily for me, there are a bunch of restaurants at the Plaza, so we decided to move to a sushi place… the Sushi House.

Just after sitting, a really nice waitress came to say hello and got our drink orders. We looked at the menu for a couple of minutes. I decided on some fried rice with vegetables, chicken and egg and a salmon, shrimp and tuna sushi roll. Hubby settled for a fried rice with vegetables and a strawberry, mango and salmon sushi roll. Yes, I was shocked with his choice!

© mylunchanddinner

The rices were the first to arrive. I was completely shocked by the sight of mine! I haven’t still gotten rid of the image of the food I ate on my hometown and get surprises all around. the egg was not chopped and mixed into the rice, as I have always seen it before, but it was pan fried and placed over my rice. I was so surprised that the waitress looked worried. Hubby was happily making fun of me. The taste of it was really good though! And all I had to do to feel comfortable was shop the egg and mix it my self.  It was really delicious, and I thing the chives had a lot to do with it.

The sushi rolls arrived when we were half done with the rice. Mine was super yummy! It has a light taste enhanced by a sweet sauce. I really loved it! Plus, the fish looked really fresh which is always important with sushi. Hubby really enjoyed his roll. He was happy with the taste.  He did made me try it though, and I must say it was an awful experience for me!  Then again, I am not a fan of mixing salt and sweet food, except for pancakes and bacon, ham or sausage…

Well, this sushi experience was definitely something new for me! I was happy to exchange the subway idea, although, we did go there to have dinner on Sunday…

Sorry about the quality o the photos! I didn’t have my camera with me!!

© mylunchanddinner 2012

13 thoughts on “What should we eat today?

  1. Thank you so much for the award nomination today! That was so very cool of you to do and I am honored you thought of me. I have enjoyed our meeting one another in the blog world and I look forward to your continued posts. Keep up the great work like today 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mazel tov! | mylunchanddinner

Leave a Reply

